RSS

Henry Rollins and The Ruts

30 Jul

I have to admit that my first 7” single was Ruts’sIn A Rut / H-Eyes” sometime back in 1978 (yes, I am that young…)

I fell in love with their sound.

I don’t know if it was for Malcolm Owen’s voice or Paul Fox’s guitar but to me they sounded great and unique.

If you’re a vinyl junkie like I do, you know the feelings you hold for your first album and your first single…

I followed the Ruts to the day Malcolm was found dead in 1980.

For those who haven’t heard of their album, “The Crack“…give it a listen a.s.a.p.

During the last years I was doing a search on Henry Rollins on Youtube, as he happens to be one of my favorite artists.

Unfortunately bad news showed up.

Paul Fox was diagnosed with lung cancer…

One might ask “how did you find out about Paul Fox while searching for H. Rollins ?”…

 Well, some months before Fox’s death, on the 16th of July 2007, Peafish  promotions organised a special night to honour Paul Fox teaming up for one final show with his surviving bandmates and Henry Rollins on the microphone.  

Thanks to Ruts’s drummer, Dave Ruffy, the DVD of that night was given to us the last time we met him and I can assure you I haven’t stopped seeing it ever since…

Youtube holds videos from some different cameras, so what you see on the internet, looks a lot better on the original DVD.

A number of punk rock artists of that era (1976-1980) went on stage to honour Paul Fox: The Damned, UK Subs, TV Smith of the Adverts, John Otway, Tom Robinson and others…

That double DVD is a must for every punk rock fan…

And…”S.U.S.” got stuck in my brain again…

Back to Henry Rollins.

I enjoyed listening to him since his Black Flag days.

I missed his performance, for a day, back in 1991 or was it 1992 ? in Berlin when he was opening for the Red Hot Chili Peppers.

But my admiration for Henry got even stronger when I found four vids of his, doing his stand up thing and talking about his love for the Ruts, how he felt when he met them and all the rest of the artists that I grew up with like he did.

I trust he is true, honest and I am sure you will agree with me after watching the following videos.

Be safe Henry, you’re great, R.I.P. Paul Fox.

 

3 responses to “Henry Rollins and The Ruts

  1. Martin

    July 30, 2010 at 7:49 pm

    Great read !!!!!!!

     
  2. tasos

    July 31, 2010 at 8:40 am

    LONG LIVE THE RUTS…
    R.I.P PAUL AND MALCOLM,
    HENRY RULES,O.K?
    special thanx to DAVE RUFFY…

     
  3. tasos

    July 31, 2010 at 8:43 am

    LONG LIVE THE RUTS…
    R.I.P PAUL & MALKOLM…
    HENRY RULES,O.K?
    special thanx to DAVE RUFFY…

     

Leave a Reply

 
