RSS

Rubies from the Underground

14 Feb

Stress and pressing issues.  Distractions and discontent.  The world keeps spinning and I decided it’s time to step off the merry-go-round for a few moments to myself.

Thumbing through a massive collection of CDs piling up on the corner of my desk I find exactly what I need.  Long overdue and highly anticipated, I decide this is exactly where I want to find myself in this moment of “for me” time.

I finally made it to listen to Robin O’Brien’s album “The Apple in Man” which was released in 2009 through Luxotone Records.

When I say “I finally made it” I mean I made it before the release of her forthcoming album titled “The Empty Bowl”…

“The Apple in Man” is O’Brien’s third release, after the EP “Fore” in 2006 and the full length album “Eye and Storm” in 2008.

These three releases hold remixed material of O’Brien’s tracks covering an era from the 80’s till now, as she has been an active member in the underground cassette movement.

“The Apple in Man” holds 12 very well-penned tracks that immediately get the listener’s attention.

To quote something from Luxotone’s page: “What you hear in her songs and performances, reviewers keep pointing out, is an artist that could easily, if only because of her gorgeous voice and larger-than-life personality, have been sucked into the commercial music machine and spit out shiny, generic, and boring.”

I won’t write here a review about each track of the album as I don’t believe in reviews.

Instead I will mention the titles of my three favourite songs of this CD: The opening track “Day/Apple”, “October” and “Mama”.

Unfortunately there is only one track on YouTube to help you get a taste of this “The Apple in Man”, so I will let you enjoy.

For more information about Robin O’Brien’s recordings on Luxotone, click here.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 14, 2011 in Music

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

