Daily Archives: April 18, 2012

Nanoi Release Their New Mini Album – Five Boxes

Mylos Club, photo by Kostas Katsavounidis

Nanoi is a music collective based in Thessaloniki, Greece. They play a mixture of experimental and indie rock and have released three albums:  Linguafon (2000),  Nanodrive (2005), and Five Boxes (2012).

Formed in 1993, Nanoi’s first line up consisted of Panos Nanos (guitar), Andreas Nanos (bass), and Alexis Nanos (drums). A year later Evanthia Sofronidou and Suzy Beza joined as vocalists. In 1997 Suzy left the band and in 1998 Eucalyptus (Noise Promotion Company) joined on guitars.  They recorded their first album, Linguafon, in 1999 and released it in 2000.  In 2001 Evanthia left the band and Simos Nanos (Citizen Kane) joined as lead vocalist.  Eucalyptus left the band in 2003 and Simos Nanos took over guitar duties. 

Nanoi recorded their second album, Nanodrive, in 2005 with George Bandoek (Noise Promotion Company, Blues Wire, Thanassis Papakonstantinou) as a guest guitarist. Andreas Nanos left the band in 2007 and Kostas Hassiotis (Nasa Funk, Alexandros Perros and the Lonestars) replaced him. The same year Christina Nanou joined in as vocalist and in 2009 Asklipios Zabetas (Mushrooms, Trypes, Ghetto) joined in as lead guitarist.

Current line up:

  • Simos Nanos:  Vocals, Guitar
  • Panos Nanos:  Guitar
  • Asklipios Zabetas:  Guitar
  • Kostas Hassiotis:  Bass, Vocals
  • Alexis Nanos:  Drums

Guests at Live Performances:

  • Mihalis Vrettas:  Violin
  • Yannis Marinos: Trombone
  • Semeli Tagara:  Vocals

Download their wonderful new album, “Five Boxes”, for free from their site, HERE.

Leave a comment

Posted by on April 18, 2012 in Music, New Wave / Dark Wave