Chore – The Coastaline Fire LP (Label Obscura 2016)

08 Nov

Label Obscura to Release Chore’s Critically Acclaimed ‘Coastaline Fire’ LP on Vinyl.


Canada’s budding Label Obscura has announced that it will release a limited run vinyl reissue of ‘The Coastaline Fire’ LP – the final album by Ontario indie rockers Chore before they disbanded in the early 2000s. All tracks have been remastered for vinyl.
Originally hailing from Dunnville, Ontario, the band found their spiritual home and built up their primary fan base in Hamilton. Chore swelled in the heavier side of Canadian indie rock in the late 90s and early 00s, drawing on the power of Helmet and the intelligence of Fugazi with the majesty of Sunny Day Real Estate to create an eccentric sound of their own.
After releasing two wildly eclectic records with Brian Pettigrew on bass guitar, founding members David Dunham (drums/vox), Chris Bell (guitar/vox), and Mike Bell (guitar/bass) made a drastic step in a new direction by recruiting Mitch Bowden (guitar/vox) for their third and final offering ‘The Coastaline Fire’. Released to critical acclaim in 2002, the release of this album saw the band sharing the stage with such luminaries as The Dismemberment Plan, Shiner, and the Rheostatics while also growing close to such friends as their ‘soon to be successful’ peers as Alexisonfire, Wintersleep and Constantines.
Since that time, all band members have moved on to other music projects. Nowadays, Mike and Chris can be seen and heard in Customaries, Dave drums for Not Of and makes electronic music under the moniker DAVIDS, while Mitch is at the helm of his own project Don Vail.
Label Obscura has exhumed Chore’s swan song to give it new life as a 180 gram double LP with gatefold jacket. Set to drop on November 18, this release will feature updated artwork and liner notes, along with five previously unreleased songs. These include three originals, which were recorded shortly before their dissolution, and two covers (Behind The Wheel by Depeche Mode and Subspace Biographies by Robert Pollard), which were recorded shortly after Mitch joined. This will be on a one-time limited edition pressing of 300 copies…Please enjoy.
1. The Coast
2. The Hitchhiker
3. The Wall Burns
4. Burr
5. Electrojet
6. By God
7. Dog In The Manger
8. American Michinist
9. Aloha
10. B Coma
11. Virginia Creeper
12.The House That You’ve Grown In
13. Grey Sky Underground
14. Behind The Wheel
15. Subspace Biographies
16. Alarms Out Loud

Keep up with Label Obscura
Website | Facebook | Twitter | Bandcamp

Leave a comment

Posted by on November 8, 2016 in Alternative


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: