Nexus – Ninouki (28 February 2022)

28 Feb

Mike Pougounas gathers John Fryer, MGT, Steve Whitfield and friends for the new Nexus album “Ninouki”

Greece based project Nexus returns with the album Ninouki after 17 years hiatus, bringing together the production skills of John Fryer, the guitar magic of Mark Gemini Thwaite and the soundboard guru Steve Whitfield along with Greek guitar players Yiannis Drenoyiannis and Michalis Galeos, trumpet player Louis Kontoulis and bassist Michalis Semertzoglou.

Nexus is the brainchild of Mike Pougounas, a veteran of Greece’s post punk/gothic scene since the 1980s and leader of the band New ZeroGod.

Since New Zero God couldn’t tour or record with his band due to COVID-19 he decided to bring back to life Nexus, a band with which he released four albums during 2000-2005 and use it this time as a side project.

Gigs were halted for New Zero God, as well as for everyone else. I was meeting the other members of the band sporadically, so I decided to start recording solo, until things return to normal.

Pougounas also hosts the Blackout Radio Show, so while he was discussing with Producer/Musician John Fryer (This Mortal Coil, Depeche Mode, Nine Inch Nails, Cocteau Twins) about an interview, they agreed for Fryer to listen to what Pougounas was doing and do the remix of the track “Rhythm of Life”.

Things were different with guitarist/producer MGT (The Mission, Peter Murphy, Gary Numan, Tricky, Spear of Destiny, Theatre of Hate).  The two met in 2000 when Nexus supported the Mission, where MGT was playing the guitar for the English band. MGT played the guitar parts on “The Words That Got Away” and “You & Me” and did a special mix for the second one.

Pougounas turned to Steve Whitfield (The Cure, The Mission UK, Terrorvision) for the mix of “Star Thief”. The two men worked together in 1995 when Wayne Hussey produced the album “Brilliant Mistakes”, the swan song of the first band of Mike PougounasThe Flowers of Romance.

Greek guitarists Yiannis Drenoyiannis (Anti Troppau Council, Yeah!, Captain Nefos, SigmatropicMichalis Galaios (Ερεβος, Lost Bodies, Mavres Comodies), bass player Michalis Semertzoglou (New Zero God, GAD, Atria) and trumpet player Louis Kontoulis (Stress, De Traces) joined forces with Mike Pougounas, who sang, played keyboards, bass, and sometimes the guitar.

As of February 28 Ninouki is available via Bandcamp.


1.       The Words That Got Away*

2.       Do You Remember+

3.       Star Thief

4.       Voyager’

5.       You & Me (MGT mix)

6.       Rhythm Of Life (John Fryer mix)

7.       Turn Me On / Turn Me Off^


All music and lyrics: Mike Pougounas

*lyrics by Mike Pougounas and Anna Psarreas

Vocals, bass, keyboards, guitar: Mike Pougounas

Guitar*: MGT

Guitar+: Michalis Galeos

Guitar^: Yiannis Drenoyiannis

Bass’: Michalis Semertzoglou

Trumpet*: Louis Kontoulis

Recorded at QZN Studio, Athens

The Words That Got Away* mixed at Mob Research Laboratoriee – Los Angeles, USA

Produced by Mike Pougounas

Mastering by John Psimopoulos

Artwork, photos and videos created by Panos Skordas (The Art Asylum)

Keep up with Nexus

Bandcamp Facebook | Youtube | instagram

Leave a comment

Posted by on February 28, 2022 in Uncategorized


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: